Opened 16 months ago

Last modified 11 months ago

#330 new enhancement

Sugestion, Save as and delete original

Reported by: roberto Owned by: roberto
Priority: Feedback Pending Milestone: Future
Component: Lucide Core Version: 1.4.0
Keywords: Cc: roberto

Description

I request to include a new menu option to Save as & Original delete, help a lot in the use of Lucide.

Change History (4)

comment:1 Changed 14 months ago by lewisr

What other OS/2 application behaves this way?

Can you provide a use case for this, please? This seems contrary to CUA guidelines. Normally file management (today) is done in the FOC (file open container), and we do not provide a method for deleting files there (not an unusual request there, as well as rename, but we start sliding down that slope very quickly). If there is a need to mass-rename, this is an operation better left to a file manager.

It sounds like what you really want is either rename or move.

comment:2 Changed 14 months ago by gyoung

A move is a save as and a delete. At least that is how it is coded.

comment:3 Changed 13 months ago by lewisr

  • Component changed from Build System to Lucide Core
  • Priority changed from major to Feedback Pending

The question then becomes whether we should consider adding this functionality (Move and/or Move as...) to the main menu or from the FOC. As mentioned before, this could get pretty sticky, once we start adding lots of file management, here.

Still, an excellent example of an application-specific FOC which provides rudimentary file management is PMView. We might want to consider gradually incorporating some or all of those file management functions to the Lucide FOC (but that is a considerable amount of work).

Again, I have asked for but have not yet received a use case for this.

Requesting feedback.

comment:4 Changed 11 months ago by darcio

Interesting ticket. Here is a very simple and very real use case which I encounter on a daily basis:

1) Firefox opens up a PDF file, I have it set to open in Lucide, which means that the physical file itself goes to my \tmp directory first (happens automaticaly during the PDF download, so I believe this is a FF behaviour). 2) Once I review the PDF and if I find the contents noteworthy and want to retain the file I almost always end up doing "Save As" and put the file in it's proper location.

These two steps however leave the original PDF file in \tmp directory which I then have to come back to and delete. Since it is usually in a READ_ONLY attribute that requires an extra step as well.

So in this case, having Lucide execute the back-end "delete" operation during the "Save As" would actually be pretty handy.

Last edited 11 months ago by darcio (previous) (diff)
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.